My Horror Game: The Setting

For the past four months or so, I’ve been on a sort of creative block for my horror game. I knew I wanted to make a horror game, but that was about it. Back in April, I started evaluating typical horror story settings, and although I originally decided to go with a dark apartment for my horror game’s setting, I have now thought of a much better idea. Horror stories, especially games, always take place in a dark location, usually secluded from the rest of the world with very few people or means of escape, but why? Real life horror stories don’t always take place in the middle of nowhere, but rather in familiar places, where we would least expect it. Since I am a horror fiction writer, I fully understand the idea of isolating the reader or audience and drawing on some their greatest fears, which include the dark, being alone, death, etc., but I think it’s time for something new.


So after careful consideration, I have decided that my upcoming horror game will not take place in the middle of nowhere, but in a resort hotel in a tropical getaway. The game will take place in the hotel and its surrounding area, including parts of the city, the beach, etc. This will require further research in order to completely form an image of the environment, but I have a vague idea of what I want. I have yet to decide on a time period, and at this point, I’m thinking something very modern. Despite the time period, the location of the tropical getaway will not be a real destination, but rather a culmination of all those tropical places we dream of going to on rainy days in the city. After all, I wouldn’t want to scare people away from the Bahamas or anything.

Now, a tropical getaway is most certainly not somewhere you would go and expect to be scared out of your pants, and that’s exactly why I chose it as my setting. In my personal experience, some of the most frightening things have happened to me in places that I would not expect it, such as my bathroom, bedroom, and backyard. A vacation resort is a place where we usually go to escape reality, which is the reason for the characters’ stay, but in this case, I plan on having a little mystery and, of course, a lot of terrifying events. The story is very vague at this time, but the setting is becoming clear in my mind. Check back in the next week or so for some concept art and research photos/inspiration!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

