My First Workshop for UDK

I just got the final details confirmed for the first workshop I will be hosting, and I have to say, I’m pretty excited. Wednesday, June 1st, I will be hosting a beginner’s workshop called “Learn UDK in a Day.” It will be held at the University of Advancing Technology, so if you’re a student here, come check it out! Otherwise, for the rest of you who are unable to attend, I will be creating a video version of the workshop, which will be posted here the following weekend.

Some Topics We Will Cover:

  • Basics of the Interface, Viewport, and Content Browser
  • Overview of Brushes
  • Terrain Basics
  • Simple Lighting
  • Swimmable Water
  • Basics of Materials and Textures
  • Overview of Static Meshes
  • Overview of Kismet
  • Overview of Matinee
  • Basic Sounds
  • Polishing

By the end of the workshop, the attendee should have a simple, working level that has varying terrain, swimmable water, a basic door that opens and closes, and more. The workshop also has accompanying documentation, which will be posted along with the completed video tutorial soon.

I’m really looking forward to this workshop, and it certainly shouldn’t be the last! If you have any suggestions for future workshops, please let me know and I can see what I can do! Future workshops will cover more details in UDK, as well as level design specific workshops. Summer is a great time to learn something new, so why not try your hand at UDK?

    • Robert
    • May 26th, 2011

    Congrats, Pralie! I’m very excited for you. That’s quite an honor. I look forward to what you’ll be posting. I wish you luck and have fun!

  1. cant wait for the video 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

