Project Approval!

At my school, all students have a senior innovation project, or SIP, that they have to complete in order to graduate. Since I’ve been preparing things for my upcoming game project entitled “Dead Pixels,” I decided that it would be a good fit for the SIP. We just presented our project proposals last week and I received my feedback yesterday. There were some interesting comments I received from the professors who I presented to, which gave me some new things to think about, but overall, my project got approved. I’m currently working on some documentation and a basic prototype of the game mechanics, and I will be putting together a team come early August, or sooner, depending on how much time I have this month. “Dead Pixels” will be a product of my personal indie studio, Katastrophe Games, and I plan on entering the game into the IGF. There’s a lot of work that is going into this project, so I will be posting here periodically to give updates as to how we’re progressing, as well as any issues we had along the way and their solutions. For those interested, you can read a little more about the game below.

 

“Dead Pixels” will be a horror-themed, 2D action-adventure platformer game with a unique art style, built in XNA. Upon completion, the game will be released either on PC or Xbox Live, or both. The basis for the game design will be provided to the team, with details in the GDD, but the design will by no means be completed by a single person. Under the idea that games are built by teams rather than individuals, Dead Pixels’ design will be completed with help from all team members. The team will take part in group brainstorm sessions, which will be led by the game designers, and every team member will get a chance to say what they would like to see in the game. All ideas will be considered, and the mainframe for the design of the game will be built by combining the most feasible of these ideas with the basis already provided.

 

Dead Pixels is intended to show innovation in horror game design. The purpose of this project is to:

  • Simulate a professional work environment
  • Help better prepare students for the actual industry
  • Create a completed, fully playable and polished game
  • Create a quality piece for student portfolios
  • Promote effective communication and time management skills
  • Promote teamwork and positive feedback
  • Allow iterative development through group brainstorm sessions
  • Possibly count as an internship credit

 

If you’re interesting in possibly joining the team, you can always shoot me an e-mail. I’m working on setting up a very basic web site for team members, so once that’s done, I’ll be sure to post the link up here. I’ll also be posting about how I made the project proposal and presentation tips later today, so be sure to check those out!

    • Robert
    • July 13th, 2011

    Pralie,

    Sounds cool. Good luck with your project. I hope you folks do very well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

