Upcoming Kismet Workshop

After receiving a lot of interest from my “Learn UDK in a Day” Workshop and video, I’ve decided to create another tutorial video for UDK. This time, I’ll be focusing on working in Kismet, the Unreal Development Kit’s visual scripting program. The tutorial is intended for beginners to Kismet, but I might also include some more advanced techniques towards the end of the video. It doesn’t look like I’ll have time to set up an actual workshop like I did last time at my school, UAT, so this one is likely going to be video only unless enough of my fellow students are interested in the actual workshop. I’m not sure when I’ll get this done, since I am pretty busy right now, but I’m aiming for the end of the month, if not sooner, so check back for updates on it.

 

Some Topics We Will Cover:

  • Basics of Working in Kismet
  • Triggers
  • Toggling Lights, Objects, and Effects
  • Setting Up Sounds and Matinee Events
  • Disabling the HUD
  • Actor Factories
  • Creating Bots

There will probably be more topics, but these are the essentials for the video. If you’d like to see any other topics you feel are important, be sure to let me know and I’ll try to get it in! Unlike the last video, we will be focusing solely on Kismet, so we won’t be creating an actual level – only what we need to test out our scripts. By the end of the workshop, you should have a good knowledge of how Kismet works and how to use UDK’s visual scripting to set up in-game events. Keep an eye out for more information if you’re interested!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

