Visual Scripting in Kismet Video

Now that finals are out of the way, I was finally able to finish the Visual Scripting in Kismet video! Click on the image below to watch it on vimeo. Topics covered include: turning off the HUD, toggling lights using switches, implementing sound and animation, and setting up bots with basic AI. Check it out and let me know what you think!

Visual Scripting in Kismet Video

I’m starting to get the hang of making these videos, and I managed to get my hands on a better mic, so hopefully the quality is much better this time. I think next time I’ll be adding in some extras to go along with points where I’m just talking and not actually showing anything. Also, I’ve been receiving some comments that the July beta has some changes that make the first video confusing, so I’ll be working on some notes after I get back from PAX Dev to go along with the video for those using newer versions. Remember that UDK is updated every month, so little things may change from time to time.

Enjoy the video, and let me know if you have any suggestions for improving them or for the next one I make!

    • Robert
    • August 20th, 2011

    Pralie,

    Great work! I learned a few things there. As far as the sound for the triggers, you should only have to use the one sound node for both, since they are the same sound, no? Meanwhile, I tried using a random int var into the spawn count for the actor factory, but that only spawned 1 bot. Thoughts on why that might not work? My min was 1 and my max was 10.

    Thanks again!

    • Thanks Robert! Yes, you are definitely right about the sound node. I completely spaced on that! As for the spawn counter, I’m not quite sure, but I could look into it a bit more. I think the problem is that it’s trying to spawn more than one bot in the exact same location, so maybe it can’t handle multiple bots with the same spawn point at the same time. I’ve always done separate actor factories for each bot, since it allows me to set up separate AI and keep things organized so I can find specific enemies easily.

        • Robert
        • August 23rd, 2011

        I checked no spawn collision, so that shouldn’t be it. However, I normally just put it on deathmatch or w/e and let it do the rest. I’ve used pylons and path nodes, also. However, I do like what you showed can be done with the AI. Very informative!

      • Hmm. That’s definitely weird. I could play around and try to recreate the problem when I get a chance. I was thinking about doing a more advanced AI tutorial later, I might add that into there once I find out what the problem is.

    • Jeff
    • August 21st, 2011

    Excellent, thank you !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

