New Year’s Resolutions

It’s a new year, and thank goodness. Aside from GDC and graduation, 2012 was a rough year for me. After graduation, I kind of got discouraged and struggled through the rest of the year, both with finding a (read: any) job and with my designs. My work with Tragedia made me realize I seriously needed to keep making games, no matter what kind of job I was working or how difficult life might be. So as this new year begins, let me just say that I am not giving up, and I don’t think any of you should either! Life gets difficult sometimes, but if making games is what we truly want to do, then we need to keep at it!

While I’ve never really been one for New Year’s resolutions, I thought that it would be a good idea for me to write down goals to meet throughout the year. Without school or an industry job, it can sometimes be hard to motivate yourself, so setting goals or resolutions or whatever you want to call them will help you stay focused. And without further ado…

  1. Write at least one blog post a week.
  2. Learn at least one new program, and refresh knowledge of known programs. (UDK, Hammer, etc.)
  3. Create new levels, and update portfolio more often.
  4. Complete Tragedia by the end of the year (preferably sooner).
  5. Create and finish one new card/board game every three months or so.
  6. Continue to apply for industry positions, and never give up hope!

 

I also just wanted to extend a special thanks to those who do read this blog and who have commented on posts! You guys are awesome, and I’m glad to be of help in your own academic careers. Thanks for reading!

 

  1. Hey! I’ve got almost the same goals as you!:) Looking forward to seeing some of your work. I’ll be posting some of mine in my blog also. Its at alternatdev.wordpress,com . Maybe a little bit of friendly competition or collaboration can motivate us to reach our goals faster? I’m Tristan by the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

